Skip To Main Content

Default Menu Image

Mobile Utility

Mobile Main Nav

Header Top

Header Bottom


Schools Navigation

Landing Nav


Board Members

Photo of Elizabeth Cooper

Elizabeth K. Cooper

Board Chair
Represents District 1

  • Sylva-South Ward
  • Dillsboro
  • Barkers Creek
  • Qualla

Mrs. Cooper is a successful business woman from the Cherokee area. She has been an active volunteer at Smokey Mountain Elementary School for more than eight years. She has been PTO president, served on the Superintendent’s Community Council, the School Improvement Team, and various committees.

Mrs. Cooper was appointed to the Jackson County Board of Education by a majority vote on October 29, 2010 to take office on November 1.  She filled the unexpired term of Mark Brooks whose resignation became effective October 31, 2010.

Mrs. Cooper was elected to four-year terms in 2012, 2016, and 2020.  She was elected vice-chair in 2018 and 2020, and she was elected chair in August 2022.


PO Box 1865
Cherokee, NC 28719
(828) 497-2331

Email Elizabeth Cooper

Photo of Wes Jamison

Wes Jamison

Vice Chair
Represents District 3

  • Webster
  • Savannah
  • Greens Creek

Wes Jamison grew up in Jackson County. He attended Scotts Creek Elementary School, graduated from Smoky Mountain High School, and went on to N.C. State University majoring in structural engineering.

About a year after Mr. Jamison returned to the Jackson County, he was hired as an engineer for the N.C. Department of Transportation. Mr. Jamison is married and his children attend Jackson County Public Schools.

Mr. Jamison was elected to serve a four-year term beginning July 2016, and re-elected July 2020. His current term expires in 2024.


130 November Drive
Sylva, NC 28779
(828) 226-3448

Email Wes Jamison

Photo of Abigail Clayton

Abigail Clayton

Represents District 2

  • Sylva-North Ward
  • Scotts Creek

Abigail Clayton moved to Jackson County in 1995. She attended middle grades at Cullowhee Valley School, graduated from Smoky Mountain High School in 2001, and went on to attend Western Carolina University earning a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration with a concentration in Accounting (2006) and a Masters in Business Administration (2010).

After completing her undergraduate degree, Abigail began working for State Employees Credit Union where she is a Senior Financial Services Officer. Mrs. Clayton has also been the local program coordinator for Special Olympics North Carolina Jackson County since 2007. Mrs. Clayton is married, and her son attends Jackson County Public Schools.

Mrs. Clayton was elected to serve a four-year term in July 2018, and re-elected in 2022.  Her current term expires in 2026.


PO Box 2314
Cullowhee, NC 28723
(828) 506-1035

Email Abigail Clayton

Photo of Kim Moore

Kim Moore

Represents District 4

  • Cullowhee
  • Caney Fork
  • River
  • Canada

Mrs. Moore is originally from Rutherford County, NC.  She studied accounting at Greensboro College and worked in management and hospitality for more than 20 years.  After owning and selling a catering business, she launched a family coaching service called "Moore Joy in Family" and wrote the book "Are All Adults Grown-Ups?"

She is married with five children and is passionate about reforming and building curricula to include leadership and economics at all grade levels.

Mrs. Moore was elected to serve a four-year term beginning July 2022.


94 Poppy Lane
Cullowhee, NC 28723
(704) 674-8231

Email Kim Moore

Photo of Lynn Dillard

Dr. Lynn Dillard

Represents District 5

  • Cashiers
  • Hamburg
  • Mountain

Dr. Dillard has been involved in education and community support for more than 40 years.  She taught at Blue Ridge School for 10 years before continuing her education and opening her own business serving two local school systems and international schools.  She earned a Master of Arts in Teaching degree and a PhD in Educational Leadership from Emory University.  She has made over 15 national presentations on innovative educational ideas and was selected as “Educator of the Year” by the Jackson County Chamber of Commerce and the Cashiers Area Chamber of Commerce.  She has served on the Blue Ridge School Education Foundation for the past 10 years. 

Dr. Dillard was elected to serve a four-year term beginning July 2022.


PO Box 493
Cashiers, NC 28717
(828) 743-2938

Email Dr. Lynn Dillard